44 Chasseral–Weissenstein Bike
44 Chasseral–Weissenstein Bike

Mountainbiking

Chasseral–Weissenstein Bike

Chasseral–Weissenstein Bike

Neuchâtel–Balsthal

Route report
10 photos

ML_044_01_P1110361_R_F_M.jpg
Chasseral–Weissenstein Bike

Chasseral–Weissenstein Bike

When long-distance views are good, the Chasseral-Weissenstein route is one of Switzerland’s most impressive. The tour travels along the southernmost chain of the Jura with views over the entire Mittelland as far as the snow-covered Alps.
About 3 km from the Neuchâtel train station the demanding ascent to Chaumont, the region’s very own mountain begins. A word of advice: those who wish to save energy for later can take the La Coudre - Chaumont funicular.

The route along the ridge, alternating between south and north side, leads to the border of the Canton Bern. The road then climbs up to Chasseral, the highest peak of the Bernese Jura. The panorama on top, across the Mittelland region and the entire Alpine mountain chain from Säntis to Mont Blanc, is incredible.. Then follows a racy descent to Vallon de St. Imier, before the route enters a gully leading up to Col de Pierre Pertuis. This wide, natural rock tunnel was already used by the Romans as a link from north to south.

From the Col de Pierre Pertuis, the Chasseral-Weissenstein-Bike tour climbs the ridge of the southernmost Jura chain, which it follows up to the Weissenstein above Solothurn. The panorama is breathtaking: far below, the glistening waters of Lac de Neuchâtel, Bielersee and Murtensee, on the horizon the snow-covered Alps, a shimmering backdrop to the densely populated metropolitan area of Bern. Finally, a varied ride through the characteristic Jura landscape of the Thal nature park awaits you. The tour ends in Balsthal. An ideal tour in autumn when thick fog covers the Mittelland and the views from the Jura heights look like something out of a fairytale.
When long-distance views are good, the Chasseral-Weissenstein route is one of Switzerland’s most impressive. The tour travels along the southernmost chain of the Jura with views over the entire Mittelland as far as the snow-covered Alps.
About 3 km from the Neuchâtel train station the demanding ascent to Chaumont, the region’s very own mountain begins. A word of advice: those who wish to save energy for later can take the La Coudre - Chaumont funicular.

The route along the ridge, alternating between south and north side, leads to the border of the Canton Bern. The road then climbs up to Chasseral, the highest peak of the Bernese Jura. The panorama on top, across the Mittelland region and the entire Alpine mountain chain from Säntis to Mont Blanc, is incredible.. Then follows a racy descent to Vallon de St. Imier, before the route enters a gully leading up to Col de Pierre Pertuis. This wide, natural rock tunnel was already used by the Romans as a link from north to south.

From the Col de Pierre Pertuis, the Chasseral-Weissenstein-Bike tour climbs the ridge of the southernmost Jura chain, which it follows up to the Weissenstein above Solothurn. The panorama is breathtaking: far below, the glistening waters of Lac de Neuchâtel, Bielersee and Murtensee, on the horizon the snow-covered Alps, a shimmering backdrop to the densely populated metropolitan area of Bern. Finally, a varied ride through the characteristic Jura landscape of the Thal nature park awaits you. The tour ends in Balsthal. An ideal tour in autumn when thick fog covers the Mittelland and the views from the Jura heights look like something out of a fairytale.
110 km | 3 Stages
Asphalted: 38 km
Natural surface: 72 km
of which Singletrail: 13 km
3800 m | 3800 m
medium | difficult

Arrival | return travel

Arrival / return travel Neuchâtel
SBB Timetable Show stop and route on map

More …

Diversion, Balsthal-Oberbergweg
Duration
until mid-July 2022
Reason
Construction & maintenance work
The route is being diverted. Please follow the local signposts. See map for details.
Data source: SwitzerlandMobility / Cantonal office

Arrival | return travel

Arrival / return travel Balsthal
SBB Timetable Show stop and route on map

Services

Accommodation

Hôtel Alpes et Lac
Hôtel Alpes et Lac
Neuchâtel
Hôtel des Arts
Hôtel des Arts
Neuchâtel
Best Western Premier Hotel Beaulac
Best Western Premier Hotel Beaulac
Neuchâtel
Hôtel Touring au Lac
Hôtel Touring au Lac
Neuchâtel
Beau-Rivage Hotel
Beau-Rivage Hotel
Neuchâtel
Bonne Auberge Les Bugnenets
Bonne Auberge Les Bugnenets
Le Pâquier NE
Chambre d’hôtes Chez S
Chambre d’hôtes Chez S
Nods
Métairie de Dombresson (Frienisberg)
Métairie de Dombresson (Frienisberg)
Chasseral
Hôtel-Restaurant du Cerf
Hôtel-Restaurant du Cerf
Sonceboz-Sombeval
Hôtel Restaurant de la Werdtberg
Hôtel Restaurant de la Werdtberg
Reconvilier
Hôtel Restaurant Harzer
Hôtel Restaurant Harzer
Court
Gasthof Hinter-Weissenstein
Gasthof Hinter-Weissenstein
Weissenstein
Bauernhof Schafmatthof
Bauernhof Schafmatthof
Gänsbrunnen
Hof Montpelon
Hof Montpelon
Gänsbrunnen
Gasthof Hirschen
Gasthof Hirschen
Welschenrohr
Hotel Baders Krone
Hotel Baders Krone
Laupersdorf
Show all

Places

Neuenburg/Neuchâtel
Neuenburg/Neuchâtel
Chasseral
Chasseral
Sonceboz
Sonceboz
Tavannes
Tavannes
Weissenstein b. Solothurn
Weissenstein b. Solothurn
Welschenrohr
Welschenrohr
Passwang
Passwang
Balsthal
Balsthal
Show all

Places of interest

The Latenium - park and archaeological museum
The Latenium - park and archaeological museum
The summet of the park Chasseral
The summet of the park Chasseral
The Anabaptists' Bridge
The Anabaptists' Bridge
Pierre Pertuis – building in times of
Pierre Pertuis – building in times of
Stigelos (Rüttenen–Weissenstein)
Stigelos (Rüttenen–Weissenstein)
Crémines–Raimeux de Crémines
Crémines–Raimeux de Crémines
Hair and Comb Museum
Hair and Comb Museum
Thal Nature Park
Thal Nature Park
Show all

Swimming

Swimming pools Nid-du-Crô in Neuchâtel
Swimming pools Nid-du-Crô in Neuchâtel
L'Orval indoor swimming pool in Valbirse
L'Orval indoor swimming pool in Valbirse
Show all

Signalization

Signalization
For mountain biking, follow the logo indicated on the red signposts. Take a printout of our web map on your tour for safety's sake.
Signalization

44 Chasseral–Weissenstein Bike
44 Chasseral–Weissenstein Bike

La Suisse à VTT

Chasseral–Weissenstein Bike

Chasseral–Weissenstein Bike

Neuchâtel–Balsthal

Reportage sur le chemin
10 photos

ML_044_01_P1110361_R_F_M.jpg
Chasseral–Weissenstein Bike

Chasseral–Weissenstein Bike

Par temps dégagé, la route «Chasseral-Weissenstein-Route» fait partie des trajets les plus impressionnants de Suisse. Ce tour le long de la chaîne extrême sud du Jura offre une vue sur tout le Mittelland et sur les Alpes enneigées.
De la gare de Neuchâtel, vous parcourez près de trois kilomètres avant d'attaquer la montée fatigante jusqu'au Chaumont, la montagne locale de la capitale cantonale. Conseil: si vous souhaitez économiser vos forces, profitez ici du funiculaire «La Coudre - Chaumont».

L'itinéraire le long de la crête – alternant entre côté sud et côté nord – vous mènera jusqu'à la frontière du canton de Berne. Vous faites ensuite l'ascension du sommet culminant du Jura bernois, le Chasseral, par la route. Arrivé en haut vous attend un magnifique panorama sur le Mittelland et toute la chaîne des Alpes, du Säntis au mont Blanc. Vient ensuite une vive descente dans le Vallon de St. Imier, avant que le trajet ne grimpe par un sillon jusqu'au col de Pierre Pertuis. Ce large tunnel naturel dans la roche était déjà utilisé comme liaison nord-sud par les Romains.

Du col de Pierre Pertuis, le tour «Chasseral-Weissenstein-Bike» grimpe encore jusqu’à la crête de la chaîne extrême sud du Jura, qu’il suit ensuite jusqu’au Weissenstein au-dessus de la ville de Soleure. Le panorama est à couper le souffle: en bas scintillent les lacs de Neuchâtel, Bielersee et Murtensee, tandis qu’à l’horizon brillent les Alpes enneigées derrière la dense agglomération de Berne. En guise de clôture, un trajet varié vous fera traverser le paysage typique de la chaîne du Jura dans le Parc naturel Thal. Le tour se termine à Balsthal. Cette route est également adaptée comme tour automnal, lorsqu'un épais brouillard recouvre le Mittelland, conférant aux collines du Jura une apparence fabuleuse.
Par temps dégagé, la route «Chasseral-Weissenstein-Route» fait partie des trajets les plus impressionnants de Suisse. Ce tour le long de la chaîne extrême sud du Jura offre une vue sur tout le Mittelland et sur les Alpes enneigées.
De la gare de Neuchâtel, vous parcourez près de trois kilomètres avant d'attaquer la montée fatigante jusqu'au Chaumont, la montagne locale de la capitale cantonale. Conseil: si vous souhaitez économiser vos forces, profitez ici du funiculaire «La Coudre - Chaumont».

L'itinéraire le long de la crête – alternant entre côté sud et côté nord – vous mènera jusqu'à la frontière du canton de Berne. Vous faites ensuite l'ascension du sommet culminant du Jura bernois, le Chasseral, par la route. Arrivé en haut vous attend un magnifique panorama sur le Mittelland et toute la chaîne des Alpes, du Säntis au mont Blanc. Vient ensuite une vive descente dans le Vallon de St. Imier, avant que le trajet ne grimpe par un sillon jusqu'au col de Pierre Pertuis. Ce large tunnel naturel dans la roche était déjà utilisé comme liaison nord-sud par les Romains.

Du col de Pierre Pertuis, le tour «Chasseral-Weissenstein-Bike» grimpe encore jusqu’à la crête de la chaîne extrême sud du Jura, qu’il suit ensuite jusqu’au Weissenstein au-dessus de la ville de Soleure. Le panorama est à couper le souffle: en bas scintillent les lacs de Neuchâtel, Bielersee et Murtensee, tandis qu’à l’horizon brillent les Alpes enneigées derrière la dense agglomération de Berne. En guise de clôture, un trajet varié vous fera traverser le paysage typique de la chaîne du Jura dans le Parc naturel Thal. Le tour se termine à Balsthal. Cette route est également adaptée comme tour automnal, lorsqu'un épais brouillard recouvre le Mittelland, conférant aux collines du Jura une apparence fabuleuse.
110 km | 3 Etapes
Goudron: 38 km
Revêtement naturel: 72 km
Dont singletrail: 11 km
3800 m | 3800 m
moyen | difficile

Services

Hébergements

Hôtel Alpes et Lac
Hôtel Alpes et Lac
Neuchâtel
Hôtel des Arts
Hôtel des Arts
Neuchâtel
Best Western Premier Hotel Beaulac
Best Western Premier Hotel Beaulac
Neuchâtel
Beau-Rivage Hotel
Beau-Rivage Hotel
Neuchâtel
Hôtel Touring aun Lac
Hôtel Touring aun Lac
Neuchâtel
Hôtel Restaurant La Maison du Prussien
Hôtel Restaurant La Maison du Prussien
Neuchâtel
Petit Hôtel de Chaumont
Petit Hôtel de Chaumont
Chaumont
Bonne Auberge Les Bugnenets
Bonne Auberge Les Bugnenets
Le Pâquier NE
Métairie de Dombresson (Frienisberg)
Métairie de Dombresson (Frienisberg)
Chasseral
Bison Ranch
Bison Ranch
Les Prés-d'Orvin
Hôtel-Restaurant du Cerf
Hôtel-Restaurant du Cerf
Sonceboz-Sombeval
Hôtel Restaurant de la Werdtberg
Hôtel Restaurant de la Werdtberg
Reconvilier
BnB Haut du Village
BnB Haut du Village
Plagne
Berggasthof Untergrenchenberg
Berggasthof Untergrenchenberg
Grenchen
Gasthof Hinter-Weissenstein
Gasthof Hinter-Weissenstein
Weissenstein
Restaurant / Pension mittlerer Balmberg
Restaurant / Pension mittlerer Balmberg
Balmberg
Seminar- und Ferienhaus Tannenheim
Seminar- und Ferienhaus Tannenheim
Balmberg
Bauernhof Schafmatthof
Bauernhof Schafmatthof
Gänsbrunnen
Hof Montpelon
Hof Montpelon
Gänsbrunnen
Gasthof Hirschen
Gasthof Hirschen
Welschenrohr
Hof Stucketen
Hof Stucketen
Beinwil SO
Berggasthof Schwengimatt
Berggasthof Schwengimatt
Balsthal
Hotel Balsthal
Hotel Balsthal
Balsthal
Pfadiheim Balsthal
Pfadiheim Balsthal
Balsthal
Tout montrer

Lieux

Neuchâtel
Neuchâtel
Chasseral
Chasseral
Sonceboz
Sonceboz
Tavannes
Tavannes
Weissenstein b. Solothurn
Weissenstein b. Solothurn
Welschenrohr
Welschenrohr
Passwang
Passwang
Balsthal
Balsthal
Tout montrer

Curiosités

Le Laténium - parc et musée d’archéologie
Le Laténium - parc et musée d’archéologie
Le sommet du Parc régional Chasseral
Le sommet du Parc régional Chasseral
Le pont des Anabaptistes
Le pont des Anabaptistes
Pierre Pertuis: en temps de crise
Pierre Pertuis: en temps de crise
Stigelos (Rüttenen–Weissenstein)
Stigelos (Rüttenen–Weissenstein)
Crémines–Raimeux de Crémines
Crémines–Raimeux de Crémines
Musée Cheveux et peignes
Musée Cheveux et peignes
Parc naturel Thal
Parc naturel Thal
Tout montrer

Natation

Piscines du Nid-du-Crô Neuchâtel
Piscines du Nid-du-Crô Neuchâtel
Piscine couverte de l’Orval à Valbirse
Piscine couverte de l’Orval à Valbirse
Tout montrer

Signalisation de direction

Signalisation de direction
Suivre le logo représenté sur les panneaux rouges pour le VTT. Par sécurité, prenez avec vous un extrait imprimé de notre carte web lors de votre tour.
Signalisation de direction