Mountainbiking
Castel of Gruyères
Gruyères
Castel of Gruyères
A visit to the castle is a journey across eight centuries of architecture, history and culture.
Built in the 13th century, the castle was the ancestral home of the Counts of Gruyères. Michel, the last Count, found himself in financial dire straits and declared bankruptcy in 1554. The creditors - the towns of Fribourg and Berne - shared his land between them. The Castle would serve as the prefects' residence until 1848. It was then put up for sale in 1849 and was bought by the Bovy-Ballands, a wealthy family from Geneva, as a summer residence. Over the years they restored the castle with help from their artist friends. In 1938, the canton of Fribourg bought back the Castle and turned it into a museum.
Discover the Castle's permanent exhibitions that serve as a reminder of its history, in addition to various temporary exhibitions.
Gruyères is a thrilling 18-minute long multimedia show (images, music, light and sound). Available in 8 languages, the show takes the visitor on a voyage of exploration through the castle’s eventful history. Shown every day, every 30 minutes.
Discover the Castle's permanent exhibitions that serve as a reminder of its history, in addition to various temporary exhibitions.
Gruyères is a thrilling 18-minute long multimedia show (images, music, light and sound). Available in 8 languages, the show takes the visitor on a voyage of exploration through the castle’s eventful history. Shown every day, every 30 minutes.
A visit to the castle is a journey across eight centuries of architecture, history and culture.
Built in the 13th century, the castle was the ancestral home of the Counts of Gruyères. Michel, the last Count, found himself in financial dire straits and declared bankruptcy in 1554. The creditors - the towns of Fribourg and Berne - shared his land between them. The Castle would serve as the prefects' residence until 1848. It was then put up for sale in 1849 and was bought by the Bovy-Ballands, a wealthy family from Geneva, as a summer residence. Over the years they restored the castle with help from their artist friends. In 1938, the canton of Fribourg bought back the Castle and turned it into a museum.
Discover the Castle's permanent exhibitions that serve as a reminder of its history, in addition to various temporary exhibitions.
Gruyères is a thrilling 18-minute long multimedia show (images, music, light and sound). Available in 8 languages, the show takes the visitor on a voyage of exploration through the castle’s eventful history. Shown every day, every 30 minutes.
Discover the Castle's permanent exhibitions that serve as a reminder of its history, in addition to various temporary exhibitions.
Gruyères is a thrilling 18-minute long multimedia show (images, music, light and sound). Available in 8 languages, the show takes the visitor on a voyage of exploration through the castle’s eventful history. Shown every day, every 30 minutes.
Castel of Gruyères
Adresse
Fribourg Region
Route de la Glâne 107
1701 Fribourg
Tel. +41 (0)26 407 70 20
information@fribourgregion.ch
www.fribourgregion.ch
Route de la Glâne 107
1701 Fribourg
Tel. +41 (0)26 407 70 20
information@fribourgregion.ch
www.fribourgregion.ch