false

Hiking

Photo gallery

Hiking in

Jaun
Alpine Panorama Trail
Alpine Panorama Trail
Stage 20, Schwarzsee–Jaun
Show all
Alpine Panorama Trail
Alpine Panorama Trail
Stage 21, Jaun–Gruyères
Show all
Freiburger Voralpenweg
Freiburger Voralpenweg
Stage 3, Schwarzsee–Jaun
Show all
Freiburger Voralpenweg
Freiburger Voralpenweg
Stage 4, Jaun–Soldatenhaus
Show all
Gastlosen Tour
Gastlosen Tour
Route 262, Jaun, Musersbergli–Jaun, Musersbergli
Show all

Cycling in

Jaun
Saanenland–Freiburgerland
Saanenland–Freiburgerland
Stage 3, Jaun–Fribourg
Show all
Saanenland–Freiburgerland
Saanenland–Freiburgerland
Stage 2, Les Diablerets–Jaun
Show all
Jaun
Jaun

Jaun

Jaun in the Fribourg Pre-Alps is the starting point of many tours to the distinctive limestone range of the Gastlosen. A unique and unusual attraction is the cemetery with its individually carved wooden crosses illustrating the life of each person buried there, often depicting a trade or hobby.
The mountain municipality of Jaun lies at an altitude of 1015 metres in the upper Jauntal (in French: Vallée de la Jogne) in the Fribourg Pre-Alps, to the west of the Jaun Pass and to the north of the distinctive limestone flanks of the Gastlosen range. The waterfall of a karst spring cascades down the mountain above the village before the waters join the Jaunbach stream just above the old village cemetery.

Several ski lifts operate on the northern slopes of the Gastlosen in winter. Cross-country skiers find floodlit runs and touring skiers find several interesting routes. Summer activities in the area include long hikes leading through Alpine pastures and to mountain peaks. The most popular destination for hikers and many climbers is the Gastlosen range. Another route leads to the pretty Schwarzsee lake. The nearby Jaun Pass is the starting point of several hikes and a small winter ski resort. There is also a camping site.

The Jaun Pass connects Bulle in Canton Fribourg with Boltigen in the Bernese Simmental. The upper Jauntal was settled in the 12th century from the Simmental (Bernese) side of the pass. The narrow Jaunbachschlucht gorge above Broc blocked access to French-speaking Canton Fribourg for centuries, which is why Jaun, although belonging to Fribourg, was cut off until well into the 19th century and has remained German-speaking.

The Simmental influence can be detected in Jaun’s typical architecture. Many of the characteristic 17th to 19th century timber houses with façades that overflow with geraniums in summer are in the Simmental farmhouse style. Jaun has a «Cantorama» (a choral singing museum with concert hall and collection) that is housed in a former church with origins going back to the 11th or 12th century. Jaun parish church was built in the 19th century and stands next to the new cemetery. The cemetery has several individually carved wooden crosses illustrating the life stories of the deceased, most of which were made by the woodcarver Walter Cottier. The ruins of the Bellegarde fortress, which was destroyed in 1407, stand on a rock spur over Kappelboden on the southern flank. It is a vantage point with beautiful views.

Highlights

  • Cantorama – the house of choral singing in a former church preserves, documents and promotes Canton Freiburg’s rich and vibrant musical heritage.
  • New cemetery – the individually carved wooden crucifixes tell the life stories of the deceased, often depicting profession, trade or hobby.
  • Waterfall in Jaun village – the source of Jaun’s waterfall remained a mystery for centuries. A karst spring releases a torrent every year around June.
Jaun in the Fribourg Pre-Alps is the starting point of many tours to the distinctive limestone range of the Gastlosen. A unique and unusual attraction is the cemetery with its individually carved wooden crosses illustrating the life of each person buried there, often depicting a trade or hobby.
The mountain municipality of Jaun lies at an altitude of 1015 metres in the upper Jauntal (in French: Vallée de la Jogne) in the Fribourg Pre-Alps, to the west of the Jaun Pass and to the north of the distinctive limestone flanks of the Gastlosen range. The waterfall of a karst spring cascades down the mountain above the village before the waters join the Jaunbach stream just above the old village cemetery.

Several ski lifts operate on the northern slopes of the Gastlosen in winter. Cross-country skiers find floodlit runs and touring skiers find several interesting routes. Summer activities in the area include long hikes leading through Alpine pastures and to mountain peaks. The most popular destination for hikers and many climbers is the Gastlosen range. Another route leads to the pretty Schwarzsee lake. The nearby Jaun Pass is the starting point of several hikes and a small winter ski resort. There is also a camping site.

The Jaun Pass connects Bulle in Canton Fribourg with Boltigen in the Bernese Simmental. The upper Jauntal was settled in the 12th century from the Simmental (Bernese) side of the pass. The narrow Jaunbachschlucht gorge above Broc blocked access to French-speaking Canton Fribourg for centuries, which is why Jaun, although belonging to Fribourg, was cut off until well into the 19th century and has remained German-speaking.

The Simmental influence can be detected in Jaun’s typical architecture. Many of the characteristic 17th to 19th century timber houses with façades that overflow with geraniums in summer are in the Simmental farmhouse style. Jaun has a «Cantorama» (a choral singing museum with concert hall and collection) that is housed in a former church with origins going back to the 11th or 12th century. Jaun parish church was built in the 19th century and stands next to the new cemetery. The cemetery has several individually carved wooden crosses illustrating the life stories of the deceased, most of which were made by the woodcarver Walter Cottier. The ruins of the Bellegarde fortress, which was destroyed in 1407, stand on a rock spur over Kappelboden on the southern flank. It is a vantage point with beautiful views.

Highlights

  • Cantorama – the house of choral singing in a former church preserves, documents and promotes Canton Freiburg’s rich and vibrant musical heritage.
  • New cemetery – the individually carved wooden crucifixes tell the life stories of the deceased, often depicting profession, trade or hobby.
  • Waterfall in Jaun village – the source of Jaun’s waterfall remained a mystery for centuries. A karst spring releases a torrent every year around June.

Arrival and return Jaun

Adresse

Tourismusbüro Jaun
Hauptstrasse 381
1656 Jaun
Tel. +41 (0)26 929 81 81
tourismus@jaun.ch
www.jaun.ch/tourismus/

Services

Accommodation

Schuwey's BnB - Chalet uf der Eu
Schuwey's BnB - Chalet uf der Eu
Jaun
Show all

Places of interest

Gasserenweid–Jaun (Jaunpass)
Gasserenweid–Jaun (Jaunpass)
Show all

Hiking in

Jaun
Alpine Panorama Trail
Alpine Panorama Trail
Stage 20, Schwarzsee–Jaun
Show all
Alpine Panorama Trail
Alpine Panorama Trail
Stage 21, Jaun–Gruyères
Show all
Freiburger Voralpenweg
Freiburger Voralpenweg
Stage 3, Schwarzsee–Jaun
Show all
Freiburger Voralpenweg
Freiburger Voralpenweg
Stage 4, Jaun–Soldatenhaus
Show all
Gastlosen Tour
Gastlosen Tour
Route 262, Jaun, Musersbergli–Jaun, Musersbergli
Show all

Cycling in

Jaun
Saanenland–Freiburgerland
Saanenland–Freiburgerland
Stage 3, Jaun–Fribourg
Show all
Saanenland–Freiburgerland
Saanenland–Freiburgerland
Stage 2, Les Diablerets–Jaun
Show all