Hiking

Photo gallery

Hiking in the surroundings

Alpine Panorama Trail
Alpine Panorama Trail
Stage 22, Gruyères–Les Paccots
Show all
Alpine Panorama Trail
Alpine Panorama Trail
Stage 21, Jaun–Gruyères
Show all
Fribourg en diagonale
Fribourg en diagonale
Stage 1, Gruyères–Bulle
Show all
Chemin du Gruyère
Chemin du Gruyère
Route 285, Charmey–Gruyères
Show all

Cycling in the surroundings

Lakes Route
Lakes Route
Stage 2, Bulle–Gstaad
Show all
Saanenland–Freiburgerland
Saanenland–Freiburgerland
Stage 3, Jaun–Fribourg
Show all
Alpine Panorama Route
Alpine Panorama Route
Stage 7, Fribourg–Montbovon
Show all

Biking in the surroundings

Panorama Bike
Gruyères
Castel of Gruyères

Castel of Gruyères

A visit to the castle is a journey across eight centuries of architecture, history and culture.
Built in the 13th century, the castle was the ancestral home of the Counts of Gruyères. Michel, the last Count, found himself in financial dire straits and declared bankruptcy in 1554. The creditors - the towns of Fribourg and Berne - shared his land between them. The Castle would serve as the prefects' residence until 1848. It was then put up for sale in 1849 and was bought by the Bovy-Ballands, a wealthy family from Geneva, as a summer residence. Over the years they restored the castle with help from their artist friends. In 1938, the canton of Fribourg bought back the Castle and turned it into a museum.

Discover the Castle's permanent exhibitions that serve as a reminder of its history, in addition to various temporary exhibitions.

Gruyères is a thrilling 18-minute long multimedia show (images, music, light and sound). Available in 8 languages, the show takes the visitor on a voyage of exploration through the castle’s eventful history. Shown every day, every 30 minutes.
A visit to the castle is a journey across eight centuries of architecture, history and culture.
Built in the 13th century, the castle was the ancestral home of the Counts of Gruyères. Michel, the last Count, found himself in financial dire straits and declared bankruptcy in 1554. The creditors - the towns of Fribourg and Berne - shared his land between them. The Castle would serve as the prefects' residence until 1848. It was then put up for sale in 1849 and was bought by the Bovy-Ballands, a wealthy family from Geneva, as a summer residence. Over the years they restored the castle with help from their artist friends. In 1938, the canton of Fribourg bought back the Castle and turned it into a museum.

Discover the Castle's permanent exhibitions that serve as a reminder of its history, in addition to various temporary exhibitions.

Gruyères is a thrilling 18-minute long multimedia show (images, music, light and sound). Available in 8 languages, the show takes the visitor on a voyage of exploration through the castle’s eventful history. Shown every day, every 30 minutes.

Castel of Gruyères

Adresse

Fribourg Region
Postfach 1560
Route de la Glâne 107
1701 Fribourg
Tel. +41 (0)26 407 70 20
information@fribourgregion.ch
www.fribourgregion.ch

Services

Places

Gruyères
Gruyères
Moléson-sur-Gruyères
Moléson-sur-Gruyères
Show all

Accommodation

Hôtel de Gruyères
Hôtel de Gruyères
Gruyères
Show all

Hiking in the surroundings

Alpine Panorama Trail
Alpine Panorama Trail
Stage 22, Gruyères–Les Paccots
Show all
Alpine Panorama Trail
Alpine Panorama Trail
Stage 21, Jaun–Gruyères
Show all
Fribourg en diagonale
Fribourg en diagonale
Stage 1, Gruyères–Bulle
Show all
Chemin du Gruyère
Chemin du Gruyère
Route 285, Charmey–Gruyères
Show all

Cycling in the surroundings

Lakes Route
Lakes Route
Stage 2, Bulle–Gstaad
Show all
Saanenland–Freiburgerland
Saanenland–Freiburgerland
Stage 3, Jaun–Fribourg
Show all
Alpine Panorama Route
Alpine Panorama Route
Stage 7, Fribourg–Montbovon
Show all

Biking in the surroundings

Panorama Bike