4 ViaJacobi
4 ViaJacobi
4 ViaJacobi
4 ViaJacobi
4 ViaJacobi
4 ViaJacobi

Hiking

etappe-01111

ViaJacobi

Stage 14, Fribourg–Romont (FR)

Route report
33 photos

WL_004_14_11_Ste_Apolline_F_M.jpg
etappe-01111

ViaJacobi

The city of Fribourg with its numerous historic references to St James and the St James pilgrims would be worth the journey on its own. The pilgrims’ path leads over the St Apolline bridge and through the varied landscape of the Glâne to Romont.
The city of the Zähringen and its exceptional historic heritage is worth the trip. This stage on the pilgrimage route of Santiago de Compostela includes the Saint Apollina Bridge, the old stone bridge over the Sarine recorded as far back as 1243 and its chapel (1147, also the date of the foundation of Hauterive Abbey). As it leaves Monterban, the path runs along an impressive row of ancient oaks, vestiges of the «old High Road between Fribourg and Bulle».

After you cross the wooden footbridge, the route takes you to Posieux, and then to Ecuvillens and its aerodrome. Don’t miss the chapel of Notre-Dame in Posat, built in 1680, halfway along the route. A path carved into the molasse leads to a footbridge over the Glâne. Pilgrims will not want to miss the altarpiece in the chapel of St-Jacques in Chavannes-sous-Orsonnens.

As you arrive in Romont, you will pass La Fille-Dieu Abbey, a Cistercian monastery founded in 1268, whose church was entirely renovated in 1996. Next, you will reach the historic centre of Romont, where glass has pride of place in the collegiate and other churches, the streets and, of course, the Swiss Museum of Stained Glass and Glass Art!

Tip: take a stroll through Fribourg with a visit to the Old Town and St. Nicholas Cathedral. The Swiss Museum of Stained Glass and Glass Art in Romont is the highlight of a visit in the region.
The city of Fribourg with its numerous historic references to St James and the St James pilgrims would be worth the journey on its own. The pilgrims’ path leads over the St Apolline bridge and through the varied landscape of the Glâne to Romont.
The city of the Zähringen and its exceptional historic heritage is worth the trip. This stage on the pilgrimage route of Santiago de Compostela includes the Saint Apollina Bridge, the old stone bridge over the Sarine recorded as far back as 1243 and its chapel (1147, also the date of the foundation of Hauterive Abbey). As it leaves Monterban, the path runs along an impressive row of ancient oaks, vestiges of the «old High Road between Fribourg and Bulle».

After you cross the wooden footbridge, the route takes you to Posieux, and then to Ecuvillens and its aerodrome. Don’t miss the chapel of Notre-Dame in Posat, built in 1680, halfway along the route. A path carved into the molasse leads to a footbridge over the Glâne. Pilgrims will not want to miss the altarpiece in the chapel of St-Jacques in Chavannes-sous-Orsonnens.

As you arrive in Romont, you will pass La Fille-Dieu Abbey, a Cistercian monastery founded in 1268, whose church was entirely renovated in 1996. Next, you will reach the historic centre of Romont, where glass has pride of place in the collegiate and other churches, the streets and, of course, the Swiss Museum of Stained Glass and Glass Art!

Tip: take a stroll through Fribourg with a visit to the Old Town and St. Nicholas Cathedral. The Swiss Museum of Stained Glass and Glass Art in Romont is the highlight of a visit in the region.
27 km
620 m | 460 m
7 h 00 min
easy (hiking trail) | difficult

Arrival | return travel

Arrival / return travel Fribourg
SBB Timetable Show stop and route on map
Arrival / return travel Romont
SBB Timetable Show stop and route on map

Contact

Signpost management
The Union fribourgeoise du Tourisme is responsible for monitoring and maintaining the hiking signposts and blazes on behalf of the canton.
Union fribourgeoise du Tourisme
Case postale 1560
1701 Fribourg
information@fribourgregion.ch
www.fribourgregion.ch

Services

Accommodation

Hôtel Aux Remparts
Hôtel Aux Remparts
Fribourg
Show all

Bookable offers

4 Via Jacobi: Interlaken - Romont
4 Via Jacobi: Interlaken - Romont
Show all

Places

Freiburg (Fribourg)
Freiburg (Fribourg)
Romont FR
Romont FR
Show all

Places of interest

Jean Tinguely/Niki de Saint Phalle
Jean Tinguely/Niki de Saint Phalle
St. Nicholas Cathedral
St. Nicholas Cathedral
Urban golf - a first for Switzerland
Urban golf - a first for Switzerland
Ste-Apolline bridge (Villars-sur-Glâne)
Ste-Apolline bridge (Villars-sur-Glâne)
Museum of Stained Glass and Glass Art
Museum of Stained Glass and Glass Art
Show all

Signalization

Signalization
For hiking, follow the logo indicated on the yellow signposts. Take a printout of our web map on your hike for safety's sake.
Signalization

4 ViaJacobi
4 ViaJacobi
4 ViaJacobi
4 ViaJacobi
4 ViaJacobi
4 ViaJacobi

Wanderland

etappe-01111

ViaJacobi

Etappe 14, Fribourg–Romont (FR)

Wegreportage
33 Fotos

WL_004_14_11_Ste_Apolline_F_M.jpg
etappe-01111

ViaJacobi

Die Stadt Freiburg mit ihren zahlreichen historischen Bezügen zu Jakobus und zur Jakobspilgerei wäre allein schon eine Reise wert. Über die Brücke St-Apolline führt der Pilgerweg durch die abwechslungsreiche Landschaft der Glâne nach Romont.
Schon allein die Zähringerstadt mit ihrem einzigartigen historischen Erbe ist eine Reise wert. Diese Etappe der Pilgerwanderung nach Santiago de Compostela führt über die St-Apolline-Brücke, eine alte Steinbrücke über die Saane, welche 1243 erstmals erwähnt wurde. Weiter geht es zu der gleichnamigen Kapelle aus dem Jahr 1147. In diesem Jahr wurde auch die Abtei Hauterive gegründet. Am Ortsausgang von Monterban führt der Weg an einer eindrucksvollen Reihe hundertjähriger Eichen vorbei, den Überresten des «alten grossen Weges» zwischen Freiburg und Bulle.

Nach der Überquerung des Holzstegs gelangen Sie nach Posieux und dann nach Ecuvillens mit seinem Flugplatz. Auf halbem Weg kommen Sie an der 1680 erbauten Kapelle Notre-Dame in Posat vorbei. Ein in die Molasse gegrabener Weg führt zu einem Steg über die Glane. Für Pilger ist der Altaraufsatz der Kapelle St-Jacques in Chavannes-sous-Orsonnens ein Highlight.

Am Ortseingang von Romont kommen Sie an der 1268 gegründeten Zisterzienser Abtei La Fille-Dieu vorbei, deren Kirche 1996 komplett renoviert wurde. Dann erreichen Sie das historische Zentrum von Romont, wo das Thema Glas im Vordergrund steht: in der Stiftskirche und den Kirchen, in den Strassen und natürlich im Vitromusée Romont, Schweizerisches Museum für Glasmalerei und Glaskunst.

Tipp: Flanieren Sie durch die Freiburger Altstadt und besuchen Sie die St. Nikolaus Kathedrale. Das Vitromusée Romont, Schweizerisches Museum für Glasmalerei und Glaskunst, zählt zu den bekanntesten Sehenswürdigkeiten der Region.
Die Stadt Freiburg mit ihren zahlreichen historischen Bezügen zu Jakobus und zur Jakobspilgerei wäre allein schon eine Reise wert. Über die Brücke St-Apolline führt der Pilgerweg durch die abwechslungsreiche Landschaft der Glâne nach Romont.
Schon allein die Zähringerstadt mit ihrem einzigartigen historischen Erbe ist eine Reise wert. Diese Etappe der Pilgerwanderung nach Santiago de Compostela führt über die St-Apolline-Brücke, eine alte Steinbrücke über die Saane, welche 1243 erstmals erwähnt wurde. Weiter geht es zu der gleichnamigen Kapelle aus dem Jahr 1147. In diesem Jahr wurde auch die Abtei Hauterive gegründet. Am Ortsausgang von Monterban führt der Weg an einer eindrucksvollen Reihe hundertjähriger Eichen vorbei, den Überresten des «alten grossen Weges» zwischen Freiburg und Bulle.

Nach der Überquerung des Holzstegs gelangen Sie nach Posieux und dann nach Ecuvillens mit seinem Flugplatz. Auf halbem Weg kommen Sie an der 1680 erbauten Kapelle Notre-Dame in Posat vorbei. Ein in die Molasse gegrabener Weg führt zu einem Steg über die Glane. Für Pilger ist der Altaraufsatz der Kapelle St-Jacques in Chavannes-sous-Orsonnens ein Highlight.

Am Ortseingang von Romont kommen Sie an der 1268 gegründeten Zisterzienser Abtei La Fille-Dieu vorbei, deren Kirche 1996 komplett renoviert wurde. Dann erreichen Sie das historische Zentrum von Romont, wo das Thema Glas im Vordergrund steht: in der Stiftskirche und den Kirchen, in den Strassen und natürlich im Vitromusée Romont, Schweizerisches Museum für Glasmalerei und Glaskunst.

Tipp: Flanieren Sie durch die Freiburger Altstadt und besuchen Sie die St. Nikolaus Kathedrale. Das Vitromusée Romont, Schweizerisches Museum für Glasmalerei und Glaskunst, zählt zu den bekanntesten Sehenswürdigkeiten der Region.
27 km
620 m | 460 m
7 h 00 min
leicht (Wanderweg) | schwer

Anreise | Rückreise

Kontakt

Betreuung Signalisation
Die Kontrolle und Wartung der Wanderwegmarkierungen erfolgt durch die Union fribourgeoise du Tourisme im Auftrag des Kantons.
Union fribourgeoise du Tourisme
Case postale 1560
1701 Fribourg
information@fribourgregion.ch
www.fribourgregion.ch

Services

Übernachten

Hôtel Aux Remparts
Hôtel Aux Remparts
Fribourg
alle zeigen

Buchbare Angebote

4 Via Jacobi: Interlaken - Romont
4 Via Jacobi: Interlaken - Romont
alle zeigen

Orte

Freiburg (Fribourg)
Freiburg (Fribourg)
Romont FR
Romont FR
alle zeigen

Sehenswürdigkeiten

Jean Tinguely/Niki de Saint Phalle
Jean Tinguely/Niki de Saint Phalle
Kathedrale St. Niklaus
Kathedrale St. Niklaus
Stadtgolf in Freiburg
Stadtgolf in Freiburg
Ste-Apolline Brücke (Villars-sur-Glâne)
Ste-Apolline Brücke (Villars-sur-Glâne)
Schweizerisches Museum für Glasmalerei
Schweizerisches Museum für Glasmalerei
alle zeigen

Wegweisung

Wegweisung
Folgen Sie dem abgebildeten Logo auf der gelben Wegweisung für das Wandern. Nehmen Sie zur Sicherheit einen Kartenausdruck unserer Webkarte mit auf die Wanderung.
Wegweisung